Traffic violations are non-criminal, payable offenses that generally do not require a court appearance. The Clerk of the Circuit Court's Office processes traffic citations issued by every law enforcement agency in Manatee County.
The Traffic Division assists the public with options for resolving their traffic citation, collecting fines, distributing the proceeds according to Florida Law, and maintaining accurate public records.
Available Options for Traffic Violations
If you have received a traffic citation in Manatee County, you have 30 calendar days from the date the ticket was issued to choose one of the following three options to resolve the ticket.
1. Pay the ticket
2. Plead Not Guilty
3. Elect Driver Improvement School
Pay the ticket, points are assessed against your driver's license, if applicable. You have 30 calendar days from the date you received your ticket to pay your fine and fill out the Option Form. Failure to pay the fine will result in the report for suspension of your driver's license and the assessment of late fees.
To plead not guilty, you must make your request for a hearing in writing to the Clerk within 30 calendar days of the date the ticket was received. You will be notified in writing of your court date.
To attend a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course, you must pay the fine, fill out the Option Form, and file it with the Clerk's Office within 30 calendar days of the date you received the ticket. You must make your payment at the same time you turn in your Option Form.
You will be granted an extra 90 days to attend a BDI course in the State of Florida. No points are assessed against your driver's license.
Failure to file a BDI course certificate of completion within the 90 days will result in the report for suspension of your license, the assessment of late fees, and points against your driver's license.
You can provide proof of completion in person, by mail, or by email. Email your certificate to Traffic@ManateeClerk.com.
Traffic school election can only be made once every 12 months, no more than 5 times in your lifetime. CDL holders are not eligible for the traffic school election.
***The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall require any operator convicted of violations 316.074(1), 316.075(1)C1, 316.172, 316.191, or 319.192 to attend a department-approved driver improvement course in order to maintain driving privileges if traffic school is not elected***
***Failure to provide insurance proof which was valid at the time the citation was issued, may result in a suspension of your drivers license by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles pursuant to Florida statute 316.646(3)***
Please have your citation number and/or case number readily available when contacting the Clerk's Office by telephone. A printable Traffic Option Form can be downloaded from our site under the Forms section.
If you are paying a delinquent citation and a suspension has been issued, we will notify the Department of Motor Vehicles electronically of the satisfaction.
If you do not have a Florida driver's license then a clearance form will be mailed to you.
Payment of the fine does not reinstate your license. If a reinstatement is necessary, contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles.
Drivers License Transcripts
Citizens can purchase certified copies of their Florida driver's license transcript containing the driver's history information. There is a $23.25 fee charge for the transcript. A person can only request and purchase their own driver's license transcript and must present a valid form of identification with a valid picture and signature.
Red-Light Camera Citations
Manatee County's red-light camera program ended in October 2022. If you received a red-light camera uniform traffic citation prior to the end of the program, which remains outstanding, please contact the Traffic Division at (941) 741-4060 for more information on how to resolve your case.