Skip to Content Skip to menu Skip to links

Frequently Asked Questions For Jury Duty

Welcome to the questions and answers area.
We have a large database of FAQs so we have organized them by topic. For frequently asked questions related to a specific topic, select it from the list below.


How am I selected for jury duty?
In accordance with Florida Statute 40, prospective jurors are randomly selected from the list of names supplied quarterly by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
What are the qualifications to serve as a juror?
You must be a U.S. citizen at least 18 years of age, a resident of the State of Florida, and Manatee County, and possess a driver's license or identification card issued by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you do not possess a driver's license, you may execute an affidavit, which you can obtain from our office.
How can I be excused from Jury Duty?
All requests for excusal must be submitted in writing by completing the bottom portion of the excusal form. This includes any request for excusal due to personal, business or medical reasons.

If you received your summons after December 15th 2015 you can now login to our eJuror Portal fill out the excusal form.
Can I be rescheduled for jury duty since I'll be on vacation when I'm summoned to report?
Pursuant to Florida Statute 40, you can postpone your jury service by contacting our office and rescheduling within a six-month period. Your appearance will be mandatory for the new date selected.
What are the exemptions and disqualifications for Jury Duty?
Pursuant to the Florida Statutes, you may be excused for the following reasons -

-If you are an expectant mother

-If you are a parent who is not employed full time and has custody of a child under six years of age

-If you are a person 70 years of age of older

-If you are a full time Law Enforcement Officer

-If you are a person that is responsible for the care of a person who, because of mental illness, mental retardation, senility, or other physical or mental incapacity is incapable of caring for himself

-If you have reported for jury duty within one year

You will be disqualified for the following reasons:

-If you are a convicted felon and your civil rights have not been restored

-If you are under prosecution for a crime

-If you no longer reside in Manatee County

-If you are not a citizen of the United States

-If you are not a legal resident of this State and Manatee County

How long will I have to serve on jury duty?
Your jury term will usually be for one day, or the length of one trial. You can plan on being at the courthouse all day on the initial day of service. If, by the end of the day, you have not been selected, your jury service usually is complete. If you were selected as a juror, you would return for the length of the trial.
I just served on jury duty six months ago; do I have to serve again?
If you have reported for jury service within one year, you have the option of taking an exemption from service. You would mark this information on the request for excusal included in the packet you received, and return it to our office for excusal.

If you received your summons after December 15th 2015 you can now login to our eJuror Portal fill out the excusal form.
Where do I report for jury duty?
Please report to the Jury Waiting Room located on the second floor of the Manatee County Judicial Center. Please check in with the Jury Coordinator as you enter. The clerk will check you in by taking your summons and questionnaire form.
How should I dress for jury duty?
Casual business attire is appropriate-coat and tie for men; dress or pantsuit for women. The courtrooms are air-conditioned so you may want to bring a light sweater or jacket. Do not wear shorts.
Will I be paid for jury service?
Jurors who are regularly employed and continue to receive regular wages are not entitled to receive compensation for the first three days of juror service. Jurors who are not employed, or do not continue to receive regular wages while serving as a juror are entitled to receive $15 per day for the first 3 days of jury service. All jurors who serve more than three days will be paid $30 per day for the fourth day of service and each day thereafter, regardless of employment status.
Where do I park while I'm at the Courthouse for jury service?
Please park at one of the following locations: Click here for map

-parking garage located at 615 12th Street West

-Downtown post office parking lot located at 824 Manatee Avenue West

You do not need to put monies into the parking meters at these locations. You will place the parking permit you received in your jury summons packet on the dashboard of your car. These are the only locations where the parking permit is valid. Do not back into any parking space.